Equipment

The Bernal Institute houses a wide range of state of the art research equipment and facilities that allow researchers from a broad range of expertise: mechanical, chemical and biomedical engineers; physicists; materials scientists, biologists, mathematicians and chemists, to focus on individual research projects as well as large interdisciplinary research programmes.

Our equipment and facilities are accessible to all researchers:  academic peers, industry collaborators, University of Limerick staff and early researchers.

To find out more, please read the list of equipment below and points of contact:

Electron Microscopy

TEM_Titan Themis

Contact: Alan.Harvey@ul.ie

Learn More

TEM_Tecnai 20

Contact: Alan.Harvey@ul.ie

Learn More

TEM_JEOL JEM-2100F

Contact: Vasily.Lebedev@ul.ie

Learn More

SEM_SU70 Hitachi

Contact: Paula.Olsthoorn@ul.ie

Learn More

SEM-FIB_HELIOS G4CX

Contact: Serguei.Belochapkine@ul.ie

Learn More

SEM_Carryscope JEOL

Contact: Paula.Olsthoorn@ul.ie

Learn More

SEM_Renishaw Invia Raman-SEM

Contact: Fathima.laffir@ul.ie

Learn More

Surface Analysis

XPS_Kratos AXIS Ultra

Contact: Fathima.Laffir@ul.ie

Learn More

SPM_Agilent 5500 AFM

Contact: bernal institute@ul.ie

Learn More

Nanoindenter_Agilent

Contact: bernal institute@ul.ie

Learn More

NTMDT Ntegra Spectra

Spectroscopy

NMR_Bruker Avance III

Contact: Sarah.Hudson@ul.ie

Learn More

Raman_ HORIBA Labram

Contact: Fathima.Laffir@ul.ie

Learn More

Raman_Renishaw Invia Raman-SEM

Contact: Fathima.Laffir@ul.ie

Learn More

FTIR_Perkin Elmer

Contact: Serguei.Belochapkine@ul.ie

Learn More

X-ray Diffraction (XRD)

XRD_Empyrean

Contact: Wynette.Redington@ul.ie

Learn More

XRD_X’Pert

Contact: Wynette.Redington@ul.ie

Learn More

XRD_Bruker Single Crystal Cu

Contact: Wynette.Redington@ul.ie

Learn More

XRD_Bruker Single Crystal Mo

Contact: Wynette.Redington@ul.ie

Learn More

Thermal Analysis

DSC_Perkin Elmer Pyris 1

Contact: Wynette.Redington@ul.ie

Learn More

DSC_Perkin Elmer 8500

Contact: Wynette.Redington@ul.ie

Learn More

DSC_Netzsch Polyma 214

Contact: Wynette.Redington@ul.ie

Learn More

TGA_Perkin Elmer 4000

Contact: Wynette.Redington@ul.ie

Learn More

DSC/TGA Setaram Labsysy

Contact: Wynette.Redington@ul.ie

Learn More

Sputter Deposition System

AJA ATA Orion

Contact: Serguei.Belochapkine@ul.ie

Learn More

Surface Area and Pore Size Analyser

Quantachrome AUTOSORB-1

Contact: Serguei.Belochapkine@ul.ie

Learn More

BioLabs

BioSciBer equipment

Contact: FranciscoVitor.SantosDaSilva@ul.ie

Learn More

BioPoint equipment

Contact: FranciscoVitor.SantosDaSilva@ul.ie

Learn More