The First in-person conferring ceremonies to take place at UL for two years were held this week.

Over 2000 students graduated from the faculties of Education and Health Sciences, Kemmy Business School, Science and Engineering and Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences over five ceremonies this week.

392 students graduated from the faculty of Science and Engineering; 20 received Doctoral Degrees, of which 11 carried out their research at the Bernal Institute along with two Masters’ students.

One of our most significant outputs in Bernal are our people and especially our PhD student graduates.  We congratulate all the graduates on their achievement.

Bernal Institute Director, Professor Luuk van der Wielen said of the graduates; “I’m delighted to see the new PhD and MSc graduates of the Faculty of Science & Engineering, and in particular those that graduated on the basis of their work in the Bernal Institute. On behalf of the Institute I congratulate them and –as key Bernal ‘products’ continue contributing in their future jobs to the same Grand Challenges in Health, Energy and the Environment that Bernal targets strategically.”

Faculty of Science and Engineering and Bernal Institute Awards

Student                                  Supervisor/s                                                                                                             Thesis
James Flynn Dr Sarah Hudson, Department of Chemical Sciences Designing Biomaterials for the Development of Bacteriocin Based Antimicrobial Therapies
Oguzhan Maraba Professor Damien Thompson, Dept. of Physics Investigation of Stability in Self-Assembled Peptides by Computational Modelling
Joseph Mooney Dr Vanessa Egan, Professor Jeff Punch, School of Engineering On the Thermofluidic Behaviour of Deformed Multi-Source Heat Pipes
Michal Strozyk Dr Maurice Collins, Dr Mario Culebras Rubio School of Engineering Dielectric Heating of Carbon Precursors
Anne Beaucamp Dr Maurice Collins, School of Engineering Dr Emmet O’Reilly, Dept. of Chemical Sciences Blended Linin as a Precursor for Carbon-based Materials, Development and Applications
Olga Doeva Prof. Paul Weaver, School of Engineering New Analytical and Semi-Analytical Solutions for Static Deflection of Composite Beams
Eimear Donnellan Prof. Sean Fair, Dept. of Biological Sciences Characterisation of the Immunomodulatory Properties of Spermatoza from High and Low Field Fertility Bulls
Luke Guinane Prof. Tofail Syed / Dr Ul Haq Ehtsham, Dept. of Physics The Modelling, Development and Characterisation of Materials for Use in Advanced Magnetic Applications
Maryam Karimijafari Prof. Gavin Walker / Dr Denise Croker, Dept. of Chemical Sciences Exploration of Hot Melt Extrusion as a Cocrystal Synthesis Approach
Hannah McTague Prof. Ake Rasmuson, Dept. of Chemical Sciences Crystal Nucleation in Pharmaceutical Cocrystal Systems
Joseph O’Donnell Prof. Tofail Syed, Dept of Physics
Prof. Tewfik Soulimane, Dept. of Chemical Sciences
Piezoelectric Measurements of Solid-state Biomolecular Assemblies including Globular and Membrane Proteins

Masters (MSc) Awards

Graduate Internal Supervisors Thesis
Donal Moran Dr Alexandros Tsoupras, Department of Biological Sciences The Valorisation of Bioactive Compounds from Apple Products and by-products for Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals
Ashu Panwar Prof Gavin Walker, Department of Chemical Sciences Crystal Growth Kinetics of Paracetamol with Different Morphology Synthesis of Carbon-Nanodots using Hydrothermal Carbonisation